Day 4: For Partners Only

I’ve been working on uploading some of my videos to YouTube this week. During my quest, I stumbled upon a rather annoying glitch in the relatively easy video upload process. In choosing your video’s “thumbnail” (i.e. the image that will appear as the static image for your video), YouTube presents you with only three options for your thumbnail selection. They are taken as screen-grabs from your videos, and as you can see from my lovely selection below, they fail to produce images that do not make me look like a lunatic.

“Surely, there is a way to change this,” I rationalized. Many of the videos I see on YouTube have thumbnails that present them as relatively normal-looking human beings. So, I researched this subject a bit on the YouTube ‘Help’ forums, and look what I discovered!

“The use of alternate thumbnails is a feature only available to partners

In my attempts to set up my account as a vlogging neophite, I came across yet another benefit of becoming a YouTube Partner. You would think that modifications like this would be available to the masses, right? ‘Tis a sad day for the beginner vloggers on YouTube.

Now, on to my next vlog which I will record in the hopes of looking relatively normal in one of the screen grabs.

 

On a totally unrelated note: Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

About Katy

Katy is a graduate student at the University of North Texas's Mayborn School of Journalism studying strategic communications, PR, marketing, and integrated media. She is a word nerd, travel nut, board game lover, hockey fan, random knowledge generator, lover of the absurd and interested in all things social media. View all posts by Katy

Leave a comment